Justice: Defending the Weak or Wronged

Posted: April 23, 2020 in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Criminal Justice, Writing
Tags: , , , , ,
hands people friends communication

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

As a writer, I am often asked about my educational background by potential clients, curious readers, and friends interested in possibly becoming writers themselves. Usually, people assume that since I have a college degree, it must be in a field like English or journalism. They are generally surprised or even shocked to learn that my major in college was criminal justice. Although I took some writing and literature courses along the way, writing was far from my educational focus.

Criminal justice and writing might first appear to be two vastly different worlds. The first science, and the second art. The one more cold and analytical, while the other more warm and people oriented. Despite initial appearances, though, they are two sides of one coin–at least for me.

There is one quality that drives both parts: my concept of justice. Righting wrongs. Protecting the innocent. Defending the weak. Ensuring that injustice doesn’t go unanswered. These concepts are obvious in a criminal justice career. However, not so much in the writing field.

Nevertheless, some of my best writing has been in response to a wrong I encounter or to society treating an individual cruelly. I can’t simply sit by quietly when a situation like this arises. I’m a people person. I care deeply for others. I can’t help but share in the pain and hurt of those around me. My heart even aches over the suffering of those I don’t even know. God blessed me with an overwhelming desire to help and protect my fellow mankind.

Sometimes this overwhelming desire to help translates into pouring my heart out into a letter or blog post. The words flow with lightning speed. I often struggle to keep up with all that is trying to spill out of me. I yearn to do whatever I can to let the victim (and others like him or her) to find comfort in realizing they aren’t alone in their adversity. Indeed, I personally know how disheartening it is to feel invisible. I know how difficult it is to suffer in silence while others turn a blind eye. I know how excruciating it is to not have someone else who understands my pain.

Also, I’m highly driven to write about these injustices because those who were spared such difficulties might grow to understand through my words. I like to believe that most people aren’t rude or insensitive on purpose. Rather, they lack sympathy because they lack understanding. If I can put my empathy and passion into the right words, maybe I can touch their hearts and they might finally understand (at least a little) the suffering of others. I know, I can’t reach them all, but if I can persuade even a few with my writing, all my effort would be worth it.

What are some things you have done to make your corner of this world a little brighter? Have you ever found writing to be an invaluable tool for changing the hearts of others?

 

© 2020 Amanda R. Dollak

Leave a comment