Fifteen Days Until NaNoWriMo!

Posted: October 16, 2013 in Dreams, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The Murderer Within Us All 2

Here we are with 15 days left until National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) starts!  I have my novel idea set.  I wrote a little synopsis and started outlining the plot.  I picked a genre and title. My NaNo profile is ready to go.  Now the excitement is building up inside of me!

Yes, I’m really doing this!  Yes, I’m going to finally work on a novel idea that has been lingering in the back of my computer’s memory for a couple years!  Yes, I am FINALLY attempting to write a novel from beginning to end!  The queen of works-in-progress might have a finished novel at last when November 30th rolls around.  How can I not be excited about that?

Now, the rules clearly state that we can’t start until November 1st.  So, the hardest part for me right now is resisting the temptation to start writing my NaNo novel.  The ideas and words are forming so quickly in my mind the urge to write it all down now is almost unbearable.  Consequently, I came here to get a break from my planning.  I need to take a deep breath, compose myself, and bottle up the inspiration until the beginning of next month.  Only planning and outlining is allowed, so that’s all I’ll be doing in the next two weeks.

Please, wish me luck and send me some of your self control.  I feel like a kid in a candy store with $20.  I want to grab at everything shiny and sweet I can get my little fingers on.  I NEED to satisfy my sweet tooth…now!

Phew, I feel a little better now after getting that out.  It would seem a writer can get pretty cranky whenever she can’t get what she wants right away.  It’s especially hard to resist whenever you’ve been waiting to complete your first novel for most of your life.  But I can do this…I can play fair…and I CAN wait.  I have a feeling foregoing the instant gratification this time might really pay off.  Now I have plenty of time to think out my novel idea before I jump in head first.

Leave a Reply

