The Decline of a Writer’s Laptop

Posted: October 6, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Image Copyright Amanda R. Dollak 2013

Photo: Copyright Amanda R. Dollak 2013

My precious laptop is dying.  It is slowly fading off into that mystical faraway land where all obsolete and worn-out electronics go.  My x key is gone.  There are black blotches forming on the screen.  The speakers rattle and refuse to offer the crisp, loud sounds I once knew.  The hinges for the screen are so worn they can’t support the screen anymore at certain angles.  Oh, and I can no longer unplug my laptop from the wall or I have to spend an eternity unplugging, replugging, twisting, and wiggling the power cord until it finally starts charging again.  It has had a long and glorious reign as my first laptop and as the key to unlocking my muse no matter the location.  But it is slowly coming to a screeching hault.  It is a sad time, indeed!

My great grandfather bought the laptop a few years ago and almost never used it.  He eventually decided in 2010 that it would be the perfect gift for me as I had decided that I wanted to pursue my writing dreams more than ever.  He also realized that the mobility of a laptop would be perfect for a single mom of two young children and a fibromyalgia sufferer.  No longer would I have to be stuck behind a desk struggling with my pain or wondering what mischief my little ones were up to in the next room.  It was one of the nicest and most thoughtful gifts anyone had ever given me.

I have started and worked on several novels behind my precious laptop.  I have created 50 or more poems using its beautiful keys.  I have edited thousands of photos on it over the years.  And I’ve shared many a happy movie night with my kids on it, too.  I have lived such amazing moments around my laptop during our touching friendship, which I even affectionately named Manny (a play off of a nickname I used to have and a joke I had with my kids).  So, when my beloved laptop finally kicks the bucket it’s going to be great loss.

A writer without her laptop is a sorry sight.  But we writers are pretty resilient.  We’ve been know to use scrap paper, napkins, and whatever surface we come across to record our ideas.  I know I’ll find ways to manage while I save up for another laptop.  It will definitely take some getting used to though.

I had forgotten how much of a blessing my laptop truly has been in my life.   My laptop has kept my ideas flowing, even when I’ve been too sick to get out of bed and my hands have hurt too much to use a pen.  My laptop has allowed me to write out my thoughts and emotions from my home, in my car, outside under the breathtaking sky, and even many thousands of miles away on a sandy beach.  My laptop has allowed me to keep my writing alive AND to keep living my life.  I will always cherish the freedom, fun, and creativity that my little Manny has blessed me with over the years…no matter how soon my laptop finally decides it has had enough and stops working completely.

Leave a Reply

