I Signed Up to Do the NaNoWriMo Challenge!

Posted: October 4, 2013 in Books, Dreams, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
It's time for my first book to stop being my last book!

It’s time for my first book to stop being my last book!

I may be completely insane, but I did it!  And by ‘it’, I mean I finally signed up for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo for short) next month.  I have been eyeing the challenge now since 2008, but I was always far too chicken to even seriously think about it.  Try to write a novel (at least 50,000 words) in a single month?  Um, seriously?  Me, the person who has only finished writing a book once in her life and that was back in 3rd grade?  I seriously have my doubts here!

But the fact is I’m tired of wallowing in aspiring-novelist mode!  I’ve been dreaming of writing a novel for most of my life, and I’ve started more novels than I can count–and more than I can actually remember.  It is time to make the next big step and set a goal that could allow me to finally seize that dream.  It is time to be bold and fearless and to stop wasting time.

There is a HUGE chance I won’t even come close to finishing.  I honestly don’t care though.  Of course, I would love nothing more than to actually finish a novel by the end of the challenge.  However, no matter how far along I get towards that 50,000-word goal, I’m going to bask in glory and pride the entire month.  I am really doing this–FINALLY–and that alone is a wonderful victory in life.  Simply by deciding to sign up for this challenge, I have changed my life forever.  No longer will I be content to sit timidly by and merely dream of what could be–some day–in some distant future.  I want–I NEED–a taste of that dream now more than ever!

Ultimately, if we keep stretching ourselves and reaching a little farther out of our comfort zone, things which once seemed impossible and beyond our reach may someday be within our grasp.  Huge leaps of faith have their place.  However, every journey is made up of many seemingly insignificant, mundane baby steps.  A leap of faith will only get us so far.  It is the consistent determination and dedication to keep going a little farther each day which finally gets us to our destination.  What are you doing today to move a little closer to your dreams?

If you would like to learn more about NaNoWriMo or would love to join the challenge, too, click here.

Comments
  1. Good luck! I have never done it.

  2. Deborah Dera says:

    Just remember – the point of NaNo is to write with *no editing.* Just let it all out. Good luck with it!

  3. […] I Signed Up to Do the NaNoWriMo Challenge! (ardollak.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Lisa Mason says:

    Yay! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

