A to Z April Blogging Challenge Reflections

Posted: May 9, 2013 in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Inspiration, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

survivor_[2013]

In 2012, I decided to experiment with my writing.  I started my first blog, and within a couple months, I experimented with my blogging abilities by entering the A to Z April Blogging Challenge.  As a newbie blogger, I was eager to test the waters, but I was also scared to death.  Even though I had been a content writer since 2008, I knew little about starting and maintaining a blog.  I went into the 2012 A to Z Challenge excited and determined but worried that I would never make it to the end.

Despite my self-doubt and worry, I finished the 2012 A to Z Challenge, and I eagerly waited for April to come again.  I was hooked!  In the beginning, I was afraid that blogging was not for me.  A year later, though, I have three blogs, all of which I entered into the 2013 A to Z Challenge—and survived!  Discovering blogging and then this challenge has changed me forever.

I have grown immensely as a writer through my blogs and the A to Z Challenge.  I have learned more about myself and my writing.  I have discovered my strengths and my weaknesses as a writer.  I have grown more confident and creative.  I have embraced my identity as a writer and learned to allow my voice to flow more freely.   Ultimately, blogging and the A to Z Challenge have allowed me to see that I have been underestimating myself and my writing abilities.

I once believed that my writing depended on a bunch of factors.  I used to think that I needed to find the perfect time, place, and idea before I could truly write.  In life, however, there is rarely perfection.  I wasted so many years of my life waiting for the right conditions so I could I begin writing seriously.  But seeing my ideas and words unfold before me, last year and now this year, through the mad rush of the A to Z Challenge has proven me wrong.  I now know I can produce quality writing even if I am pressed for time and must write around a thousand distractions and other obligations.  I can beat writer’s block and find endless sources of inspiration.  And I can be productive and write daily if only I believe in myself and make it a priority.

For two years now, the A to Z April Blogging Challenge has been my own journey to self-discovery.  Last year I learned to overcome my fears and reservations as a new blogger.  And this year, I discovered how to keep writing even when life throws the most difficult of obstacles.  I can’t wait until next year to see what other valuable insights I might find!

Comments
  1. Yvonne Lewis says:

    Congratulations on taking part in the challenge and for a most detailed Reflection Post.
    Yvonne.
    A TO Z AMBASSADOR.

  2. writepam71 says:

    Good observations on the Challenge! It’s wonderful to discover that we can write under pressure and enjoy it! Three blogs! What an accomplishment!

    • ARDollak says:

      Thanks for your kind words! I’m happy you stopped by my blog. And yes, it’s a wonderful feeling to know we can rise to the occasion, especially when the challenge seems near impossible.

Leave a Reply

