Purple Feathers

When I am in deep thought I tend to draw zigzags and other doodles on my paper.  When I was still in school my teachers assumed that when I was doodling I wasn’t paying attention in class.  In reality, I can concentrate and retain information a lot easier if my restless hands have something to keep them busy.  Moreover, the graceful, flowing motion of doodling draws out my thoughts and ideas.  It is as though with each stroke, zigzag, or swirl my imagination unfolds and the words are pulled from my mind.

This is perfect for writing.  If I am hounded by writer’s block, I’ll break out pen and paper or open a computer drawing program.  I’ll then allow my hand to go wherever it wants while I focus on the movement.  Many times just a 30-minute doodling session will start the creative juices flowing again.  No, it may not completely rid my brain of writer’s block, but it’s a wonderful start.  I can then build on this rudimentary inspirational foundation using one or more of the other inspirational ideas that I’ve shared with you this month.

We have now reached the letter Z, so this concludes the A to Z Blogging Challenge and my theme of different sources of inspiration for my writing.  Here is a list to review all of the things that help inspire me and break writer’s block:

  • Animals and adorable antics
  • Butterflies
  • Clouds
  • Dawns and sunsets
  • Earth
  • Fire
  • Ghost stories
  • Hatred and harm disguised as humor
  • Icicles and snowy days
  • Jumping jacks
  • Keys
  • Lights
  • Music
  • Naps
  • Order
  • Photography
  • Quibble
  • Rain
  • Start
  • Tacos and other tantalizing foods
  • Unicorns
  • Vacations
  • Water
  • X-Men and other superheroes
  • Yellow
  • Zigzag

Did you find any of my inspiration ideas useful?  Do you have a favorite that isn’t on my list?  I’d love to hear about some of your own sources of inspiration.

Comments
  1. great post I am new to blogging and this is great information.

  2. Kristen says:

    I love to doodle too! 🙂 Congrats on finishing the challenge!

    #atozchallenge, Kristen’s blog: kristenhead.blogspot.com

  3. Sandy says:

    I’m not one to doodle, and for me it would be distracting. As a teacher seeing someone with their head down, not making eye contact…would also be distracting. Hard for her to know you were listening and if she or he lets the whole class do that, things would be out of hand. I’m a moderator, and actually say to adults, if I could everyone’s eyes up here please. It’s necessary. I don’t want people playing on their phones, turning off their hearing aids, playing with something in their purse and or reading a book. I’d be a rich, very rich person if everytime someone did something wrong I got paid because they weren’t the ones paying attention. I can see on your time, to clear your mind it might be helpful; but in group situations it’s been my experience it festers. Congrats on finishing the challenge.

    • ARDollak says:

      I can actually doodle without looking. It was one of the talents I learned in elementary school, so I could copy things down from the blackboard faster. But I always do try to doodle discreetly, so as not to disturb anyone.

  4. Sandy says:

    Me popping round again making blog visits…where you?

Leave a Reply

