T is for Tacos and Other Tantalizing Foods

Posted: April 23, 2013 in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Food, Inspiration, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Cuban Flank Steak and Rice

Cuban Flank Steak, Black Beans, and Rice

In my family, it is a tradition for children to help out in the kitchen from a very young age.  I remember shucking corn, unwrapping sticks of butter, and tossing salads as a little girl.  I was always eager to help my parents and grandmother with the cooking and baking.  Beginning when I was 10 years old my parents allowed me to cook family meals with little or no supervision.  The first meal I learned to make completely on my own was spaghetti.  My father taught me his secret spaghetti recipe and techniques, and from that day forward, I was determined to better my cooking skills.

Now that I’m an adult I still love to cook and bake.  The more fresh and from scratch I can make food the happier I am.  And I have passed down my family’s kitchen tradition to my own children.  My children and I cook together almost every single day.  My favorite food is tacos, but really I am in love with any food that has a lot of spices and heat.  My family and I make at least one spicy dish per week.

My love of cooking and then enjoying the food with my family is a high priority in my life.  It is important to me to see my whole family around the table to share a meal at least once a day.  With our busy lives, sometimes this is the only time we get to spend together during the week.  These little family times keep me centered and content, easing the stress of the day.  As a result, family meals indirectly combat my writer’s block.  Without stress buildup I can sit down at the end of the day and simply write.

Cooking and eating homemade meals with my family doesn’t make my problems go away.  But they remind me of just how blessed I am and of what is truly important in my life.  Even when my world seems to be caving in I have so much to be thankful for.  And all the negativity, stress, and challenges in my life can never take away all the wonderful things that I am blessed with.  This realization relaxes me and pushes all the worrying aside, allowing me to focus on my writing again.

Leave a Reply

