P is for Photography

Posted: April 18, 2013 in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Inspiration, Photography, Writing
Tags: , , , ,

Rose

Just a quick glance at my social media accounts and my computers confirms that I am addicted to taking photos.  I have so many files and prints that I periodically stumble on photos I have completely forgotten even exist.  My family teases me that it is because I am “click happy”.  They insist that I have this uncontrollable urge to be pushing buttons and seeing bright lights.  I, on the other hand, think it has to do with my imagination.  I see beauty, excitement, and memories in the making.  Special moments, daily moments, sunny days, stormy days, inside, outside, extraordinary things, everyday things—I have to take as many photos as I can to capture and save it all!

Except for a photography class I took in high school, I am an untrained photographer.  Maybe some day I will take professional photography classes.  But until then, I will get my practice by taking as many photos as possible.  It seems like every time I buy a new digital camera, I have outgrown it in a year or so, and I’m left yearning for an even better quality camera.  I want so badly to capture exactly what I see.  It seems like my cameras never do the world around me justice.  I hope eventually I will have the equipment and talent to show others my precise perspective of things around me.

Sometimes inspiration has a chain effect.  Sometimes I see something beautiful or amazing, and I am compelled to run and get my camera.  Then later on, as I am reviewing my photos, I see an aspect within the photograph that makes me want to write an article, a poem, a blog post, or even a new story.  As a writer, I love to include my own photographs with my work.  It is so much easier when I have photographs readily available that complement my writing.  However, there is something special when my photos can spawn new writing creations.

Do you enjoy photography as well?  If you do, what are some of your favorite things to photograph?  Do you ever find that your photography can inspire you in other areas of creativity?

Leave a Reply

