a-to-z-letters-o

Although I tend to be a perfectionist, I am nowhere near a tidy freak…well, at least anymore.  Kids, pets, and life have brought wonderful chaos into my house.  I have come to realize that a little clutter and even dust is good for the soul.  A home isn’t sterile, and there are much more important things in life than making sure my house is spotless.

However, I also realize that my mind can only handle so much chaos and disorder.  My workspace tends to be filled with lots of different projects.  My desk often is covered with papers, notebooks, books, and whatever else is currently on my agenda.  It’s nowhere near being clean.  Still, there is an order to my workspace.  Without it, my brain starts to fizzle and burn!

Technically not a source of inspiration, order DOES keep writer’s block at bay.  Too much chaos disrupts my mind completely.  In fact, when there is too much clutter all I can think about is cleaning.  Obviously, that is not a productive frame of mind when I should be focusing 100% on my writing.  Too much chaos around me translates into too much chaos within me.  I need a fine balance between order and chaos in my workspace or my whole groove becomes out of whack.

How about you?  Can you be productive in any environment?  Or does your creativity start to waver when conditions aren’t quite right?  If you need a more controlled workplace, what things do you have to have?  What things have to go?

Comments
  1. Kristen says:

    I can pretty much work in any environment, it’s just more difficult when it’s messy because I get distracted and want to clean.

    #atozchallenge, Kristen’s blog: kristenhead.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

