M is for Music

Posted: April 15, 2013 in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Inspiration, Music, Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Guitar

Recently, I was jokingly accused of having music schizophrenia. My musical taste spans about 70 years. I love so many various music genres and artists/bands that it is much easier to say what I don’t like than to explain what I DO love. I grew up surrounded by a vast array of music, so my love of music started as an infant. My family loves to tell me that I learned to dance long before I ever knew how to stand or walk. I’m a music lover through and through. My daily life isn’t the same without at least a little music each day.

I strongly believe that my poetic talents and need to write poetry is a result of my love of music. I am so used to hearing thoughts and feelings expressed in verse and rhyme that at times my poetry simply flows from my mind onto the paper or screen. Sometimes my thoughts rhyme and I can actually see the lines in my head.

I’ve heard some people insist that listening to a lot of music can diminish your poetic creativity. The theory is if you hear too many verses, there isn’t much left for you to write. Instead, your head is stuffed full of other people’s words. I’ve actually found this to the exact opposite. Although I have a seemingly endless library of song lyrics in my head, I rarely run out of new ideas. In a general sense, I AM repeating the themes of so many of my favorite songs. Still, I am a strong believer that even when we rehash other people’s ideas, our creations will, nevertheless, offer a unique twist or perspective if we allow our individuality and unique experiences shine through.

Now, I’ll readily admit that sometimes I find myself repeating song lyrics, almost word for word, while I am writing poetry. This usually happens when I get a song stuck in my head and can’t seem to shake it. But overall, the more music I listen to the more my poetry grows and the more poems I am able to write. Surrounding yourself with others’ raw emotions, ups and downs, and ideas can be the perfect breeding ground for new and fresh creativity.

Even when I do my blogging and content writing I usually have music playing in the background. Music always puts me in my creative zone and also gives my fingers a great tempo to follow. In fact, you should see how fast I can type with an energetic song playing! The only downside to music while I am writing is I have the tendency to type the lyrics I hear into my writing. Consequently, I’ve learned to use only instrumentals or music in a foreign language. Ultimately, though, music and writing are a perfect pair for me, and I wouldn’t be the writer I am today without a childhood full of music.

 

Comments
  1. This is a great argument for musical education (which is slowly being pushed out of public schools).

Leave a Reply

