Christmas Lights

When I think of lights I don’t think of lamps, flashlights, or any of the various light sources that you might regularly find around your home. Instead, lightning, the moon, stars, and fireworks come to mind. My favorite type of lights, though, are holiday lights. I tend not to call them Christmas lights because I find every excuse and holiday to decorate my home with strands of lights. If it wouldn’t border on tacky, I honestly would be tempted to have Christmas lights throughout my home all year round!

I love the soft glow and gentle twinkling. I could sit and watch Christmas lights for hours, even when they are steady burning. Yes, I am that captivated by these lights! When I am gazing into the tiny bulbs the past comes back to life. I can remember so much of my childhood simply by surrounding myself with Christmas lights. Once again I can see the world through the eyes of a child and remember how much more simple life was and how much more imaginative I used to be. I recall how I could be entertained for hours by the most basic of things, such as sticks, sand, crayons, or molding clay. I also can recollect all the countless hours I spent daydreaming and creating my own stories and songs.

It makes me wonder what happens to us before we reach adulthood that makes us so hesitant to dream and imagine. Do we become so cynical or afraid of life that we hide our dreams and creativity deep inside of us? Are we worried that our unique thoughts and ideas will be met with scorn and ridicule by those around us? Are we so determined not to fail that we stop reaching for what seems like the impossible?

It unnerves me that I have lost something along the way that used to make me feel like anything was possible and that once allowed my imagination to soar to the greatest heights in my waking hours. Consequently, I love to surround myself with things that bring back memories of the free child I used to be, including Christmas lights. I have come to realize that I need this innocence and creative freedom more than anything. Any time I reconnect with my uninhibited child self my writing just flows out of me and I never run out of ideas. If I can learn again to dream without restraint, I will finally become the writer I work so hard to be!

Comments
  1. Betty Alark says:

    What a beautiful picture! Enjoyed your every word! Never stop dreaming and going within! Bring forth what is naturally within you and let no fear nor obsticles of the world prevent you from doing so!

  2. I love holiday lights too! I even have a string of lights around the bedroom ceiling that stays up year round. I just can’t do blinking or flashing lights. They give me seizure-type symptoms. One difference though: I definitely do not want to go back to childhood. Mine was dark and traumatic and the innocence that children are supposed to have was never mine. I have more of it now than I did then. Way more! Yes, I can still embrace magic and wonder, the older I get.

  3. Kristen says:

    I love lights, and that photo is amazing!

    #atozchallenge, Kristen’s blog: kristenhead.blogspot.com

    • ARDollak says:

      Thanks, Kristen! Would you believe I took that in a moving car? I took my family to see a local holiday lights display and I took a zillion photos as we drove through it.

  4. Hello, Amanda! Christmas lights are my favorite kind of lights, too! I can sit on the coach for hours and just stare at the tree lit up in the darkness. I love driving around at night looking at the lights! My favorite are the people who leave these lights up all year. I wish I could do that! Maybe someday when I get a house. 🙂

    Happy A to Z-ing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

    • ARDollak says:

      Laura, I hope you get your house some day. I just purchased my own home and plan on putting up some clear strands for accent lights. I can’t resist!

Leave a Reply

