100_1533

When I was a little girl my dad enjoyed scaring me with ghost stories. On Halloween, as bedtime stories, or around a bonfire, my father seemed to find any opportunity to try to frighten me with a ghostly tale. And most of the time, he did! I remember spending many a night awake, shivering with terror and letting my imagination get too wild. Yes, some of his stories scared me to death, but I loved it. It was so much fun and it gave me an adrenaline rush, which I had never known before. All the lost sleep and minor paranoia (brought on by my overactive imagination) was definitely worth all the entertainment I got out of these ghost stories.

Before my dad passed away in 2011, I never got a chance to ask him if these stories were something he had heard somewhere else or if they were his own creations. But in a way, it doesn’t matter at all. Regardless of their origins, it’s these stories that planted the seed for my dreams of being a writer. The suspense, terror, and myriad of other emotions that I felt while listening to my father’s ghost stories thrilled me to no end. Before long, I wanted more than anything to be able to create stories of my own that could produce such strong emotions and reactions in others. Even as a little girl, I was drawn to the power that a good, well-written story can possess over the reader.

To this day, I look back fondly on my dad’s ghost stories and remember what it was like to be thoroughly and completely engrossed in a tale, as only a child can be. I recall my reactions, reflect on the emotions that the tales drew out of me, and I never forget how long these stories have stayed with me. Although the words of these ghost stories have long since faded from my mind and I can remember only fragments of some of my father’s later tales, I strive to create stories like them. If I can produce a book that affects a person for a fraction as long as these stories have affected me, I’ll consider my writing a success.

 

Comments
  1. Kristen says:

    What a wonderful story you have! Your relationship with your father sounds so wonderful. Very sweet.

    #atozchallenge, Kristen’s blog: kristenhead.blogspot.com

  2. Dani says:

    Oh, a good story is the best! The scarier the better.
    Dani @ Entertaining Interests
    #warriorminion

  3. I love ghost stories! And what great memories to have of your Dad.

    I’m stopping by from the A-Z and it’s so nice to meet you!

  4. Joe Owens says:

    Storytelling comes in so many forms and all of it feeds our desire to write. I am glad you had this special time with your father. I am sure the memories will last a long time.

Leave a Reply

