IMAG0947

Sometimes I wonder if I am a bit of a pyromaniac. Since the summers when we would have wiener and marshmallow roasts at my grandparents’ house, I’ve had a special love for fire. As a teenager, my favorite chore was burning the week’s trash. Also, one of my favorite things about going camping has always been building and sitting by the campfire. And I still find every excuse to grill out or to light candles. If I had a fireplace, I’d be wearing that out, too!

Somehow, I identify with fire. It feels like we are connected. As I gaze into the flames, a peace floods over me. The soft crackles and pops of the burning wood carry my thoughts away. As I watch the smoke gently drift away in the breeze, I start to daydream.

In this fire-induced state of mind, I am free to go wherever my thoughts decide to take me. To faraway lands and worlds unknown, my mind floats along. Gone is the daily stress. Absent are all my self-doubts and failures. No more are my worries and endless responsibilities.

Fire allows me to explore the inner recesses of my imagination, my heart, and my soul. It livens my spirit, de-clutters my mind, and gives me a clarity that I usually only see in my dreams. It reminds me that we all have the power to both give light and warmth or to bring destruction and death. Ultimately if we stay balanced and contained, we will improve this world. But if we grow greedy or enraged, we will only destroy those around us.

 

Comments
  1. Kristen says:

    Fire really seems like the perfect inspiration for any form of artistic expression. Fire itself is almost artistic. The flames seem to move in such a random way. There’s no way to predict what it will do next.

  2. Joe Owens says:

    I burn brush when we have it and it is something that evokes fond memories of my youth. When my son was small he would want to “help” me burn the brush and asked if i was going to “put fire on it”.

Leave a Reply

