DSCI0353

Prepping the Family Garden

My mother and grandmother love to tell me stories of my childhood. Perhaps their favorite one to tease me with is about my fear of grass as a baby. Most older babies are super curious about the world around them. They are constantly watching, touching, listening, and tasting to explore their environment.

According to my family, I was the exact same way–except whenever it came to grass. As soon as I would have grass touching me, I would scream and bawl like something awful was happening to me. I shivered and shook terrified at even a single blade of grass. It took my grandfather setting me in his lap as he sat on the ground and patiently introduced me to grass, a little by little.

I actually laugh a lot about that story because since I can remember, I have been most comfortable and happy outside. Even today, I would spend every waking second outdoors if I could. The fresh air, sun, chirping birds, and the beauty of nature keep me longing for time outside. I literally find every excuse and reason to be outdoors when the weather is warm and fair.

But perhaps my favorite activity outside of all is getting dirty. Yes, I’m quite serious. If it involves getting down and dirty with dirt, I’m as happy as can be. I still walk in the yard in bare feet whenever I can. I enjoy raking the yard and any home project that involves digging. Most of all, though, I absolutely love to garden. Flowers, veggies, or fruits–it doesn’t matter.

Digging and playing in the earth really is one of my Zen moments. There is something about touching the rich dirt, breathing in its aroma, and surrounding myself with things that grow that brings me so much joy and satisfaction. It also relaxes me and sparks my inspiration.

I actually started one of my works-in-progress, a historical novel, based off of an idea that I got while pulling weeds in my garden. I started thinking about how satisfying it is to grow your own food, which in turn, made me wonder what it was like centuries ago when people had to rely mostly on their own two hands to feed their family. It brought up a lot of questions, so I set out to answer them, as well as create my own little world to imagine life back then.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you continue checking back for the rest of the A to Z Blogging Challenge!

Comments
  1. I love your inspiration for you novel and how it came to be. I’m not much of a gardener [thankfully for the plants], but I do like being out.

    • ARDollak says:

      LOL I sometimes worry my plants are going to come back for vengeance. I’m not always the best gardener either, but I enjoy it immensely.

  2. bhavzzzzz says:

    Awwwww.. I loved the story of how you were terrified of Grass!!

    Bhavya from the AtoZ Challenge blogging at Just Another Blog

  3. Joe Owens says:

    Perhaps your aversion to gradd has to do with worm waster you knew was waiting within. I am A to Z challenge blogger also. I will continue to catch up as you do.

Leave a Reply

