D is for Dawns and Sunsets

Posted: April 4, 2013 in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Inspiration, Nature, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sunrise

My A-Z Blogging Challenge post today is closely related to my C post yesterday. In my inspiration world, D is for dawns and sunsets. Even though the sun goes up and down every single day, dawns and sunsets never fail to amaze me and stir something deep in my soul.

To me, dawns represent a new beginning, another opportunity to be the person I want to be and to reach for my dreams. Dawns embody mystery, suspense, and anticipation. We may have plans for the day, but we never actually know what the soft hues of morning may unveil. It’s during sunrises that I am most in tune with my inner dreamer and optimist. Being a night owl and a late writer, though, I witness few sunrises these days.

Sunsets, on the other hand, are a welcomed old friend. They remind me that nothing lasts forever and that no matter how bad our failures, there will be new chances after we rest and regroup. Sunsets are calm and peaceful, offering a soft serenity and inner reflection. As the sun goes down for the day, I see things so much clearer. Also, during sunsets, I can reconnect with who I am better than any other time of the day.

I am a writer always and in every way imaginable. Still, my writing style can vary depending on the time of day. I once thought that I suffered from some sort of multiple writing personalities issue or that I wasn’t consistent with my voice as a writer. Over time, though, I’ve come to realize that writers are multifaceted beings. We are complex and made up of countless sides and layers. To deny any of those facets, we would be denying a part of ourselves…as well as risking the quality and depth of our writing. If we start taking away our own complexity, our writing may eventually become flat and bland.

Comments
  1. Joe Owens says:

    I love both of these, although i regularly see more sunsets than dawns. I wish I had the photographic skills and equipment to capture the beautiful colors of the sunsets I see.

Leave a Reply

