B is for Butterflies

Posted: April 2, 2013 in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Nature, Photography, Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Black Butterfly

Ahhh, spring is in the air. The sun is shining cheerfully in my window. And warm weather thoughts are taking over my mind. Ok, that sweet spring scent is actually the potted Easter lilies across the room. Plus, I admit the sun is extra shiny today because it’s reflecting off the snow on the ground. However, despite spring’s late appearance in my area, spring has sprung on this blog today for the A to Z Blogging Challenge: ‘B’ is for butterflies!

Butterflies are magnificent creatures! Their dazzling colors, their graceful movements, and their love of colorful flowers–I can never get enough. If I could spend a thousand lifetimes watching butterflies, I would still want to spend a thousand more staring in wonder and awe.  Butterflies are so delicate and ethereal, almost like snowflakes or paper lanterns. Yet, they are overflowing with such energy and life. They seem so carefree and happy floating from flower to flower, enjoying life to the fullest.

As soon as I catch a glimpse of the slightest fluttering out of the corner of my eye, I’m off running with my camera. My inner child awakens, and I forget all else. I can’t resist another opportunity to immerse myself in the magical side of nature and then to take a piece of that magic with me.

In turn, those photographs and memories get into my blood and thaw my frost-bitten soul even on the coldest and longest of winters. The cheerfulness and youth of spring surges through my thoughts and breathes life into my writing, bringing new and fresh ideas to the surface. Ultimately, even my stalest of writing sessions can sometimes be transformed and reborn with a little butterfly magic.

Comments
  1. Kristen says:

    Gorgeous! I love butterflies. One of my favorite places as a child was this garden where there were tons of butterflies that would land right on you: your head, hands, shoulders, wherever. I wish I could remember where that was.

  2. Joe Owens says:

    When we were at Disney World in Florida five years ago they had a Butterfly House and we took a few moments to enjoy the experience of having butterflies all around us. I also took a picture of a butterfly against a fading fall mum last fall and posted the picture on WordPress.

Leave a Reply

