A is for Animals & Adorable Antics

Posted: April 1, 2013 in A to Z Blogging Challenge, Pets, Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Tut and Boomer

Cute cat photos and videos are the bane of internet surfing, social media, and living for that matter. Everywhere you go you are surrounded by felines crowding cyberspace. The cuteness is infectious…and addicting. And for a huge animal lover like me, the kitty adorableness can be a major distraction when I should be doing anything but ooh-ing and aww-ing over cuddly cuties.

Honestly, though, animals, even cats with their subtle addictive quality, can be quite helpful with my writing. When I am suffering from a mega case of writer’s block a nice cuddling session with my resident felines or some playtime with my peppy pooch are the perfect solution. Over the years, I’ve noticed that the number one cause of writer’s block is not lack of skill, discipline, or ideas. It’s actually too much stress and strain. Excessive pressure in life, even if it has absolutely nothing to do with writing, tends to block the natural flow of writing. But with the love and adorable antics of pets, who can stay stressed for very long?

Moreover, some of my best writing has been a product of animals. Whether I am angered by their mistreatment, in awe of their beauty, inspired by their loyalty and innocence, or bursting to share my love of critters big and small, they have spoken to my heart and touched the deepest parts of my soul. My life is truly blessed because of my love of animals and the affection they return, so it’s only logical that this overflows into my writing, too.

Well, there you have my ‘A’ post for the A-Z Challenge. Have you ever been inspired to write because of a pet or other animal? If so, I’d love to hear about it! And don’t forget to peak back in tomorrow to see what ‘B’ object influences my writing.

Comments
  1. ot ebby says:

    You have entered 3 blogs?! You will be busy! Looking forward to reading more…
    Ebby

  2. tara tyler says:

    animals are great inspiration! real characters!

  3. Kristen says:

    We both chose animals! 🙂 I can’t believe you’re doing three blogs! That’s going to be tough. I wish you well with it.

  4. Faye North says:

    Just dropping in with A-Z and I’m astonished – 3 blogs?? I’m very impressed (and only doing one). My daughter loves dogs, and her favourite breeds have found their way into the manuscript I’m working on. Great post!
    Faye at Destination: Fiction

  5. Joe Owens says:

    I love animal pictures and do find them to be cute and touching in most cases. I saw a video recently of a family that installed a video camera to see who was sneaking into their pool area when they were away. It turns out their own dog was sliding into the pool, jumping out and repeating and leaving the pool deck very wet. It was hilarious.

Leave a Reply

