The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Posted: March 27, 2013 in Books, Writing
Tags: , , , , ,
Photo Credit: Tom Murphy VII

Photo Credit: Tom Murphy VII

This month I volunteered to participate in a blog hop with a number of my friends.  It is called the Next Big Thing Blog Hop.  Basically, authors answer a number of questions about their current work in progress and link to the person that referred them.  They also try to find 3 more bloggers to carry on the hop.  It is a fun and creative way to share what everyone is working on, while meeting some new authors and readers along the way.

My friend and inspiration for my fibromyalgia blog, Kimberley Linstruth-Beckom a.k.a Amanda Kimberley, was the one who finally convinced me to join in on the blog hop fun.  You can click the following link to learn more about her work. Website:  http://www.fibroandfabulous.com

I am actually working on a number of novels, but I am going to focus on my newest creation since I am actively working on it this month.  For a little sneak peak, click here.  Now with introductions aside, let’s get started on the blog hop questions:

1: What is the working title of your book?
The working title of my book is The Ear of Silence.  It is a very, very rough title.  It is one of those titles that just came to me while I was half asleep.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?  
My story is actually based off of a recurring dream I kept having a few months ago.  I kept dreaming that I was the man who is the main character of my novel.  It was such a vivid and surreal dream that it still is fresh in my mind.

3. What genre does your book come under?  
Although my book is still in the early stages, I would have to say it is a sci-fi/thriller story.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?  
To be honest, I would love to see a fresh face for my main character.  He is at a very vulnerable time in his life because he has lost his hearing due to an accident.  It would have to be someone able to identify with this fragile state of mind.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?  
This is a hard question for me since my story is only in its infancy.  But I’ll give it my best shot: A recovering soldier starts hearing strange noises and voices from his hospital bed even though his doctors insist he may have permanently lost his hearing.

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?
Most likely I will be self-publishing this book.  I have been a writer for years, but I have yet to publish a book.  This will be a new and exciting experience for me!

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
I am still hard at work.  It’s been a few months since I first started writing this book.  But I have so many other projects that I tend to bounce around from one to another and then back again.  It can get a little crazy, but I’ve found that it keeps my creative juices flowing.  When I switch to a different project my mind is still churning new ideas for the previous one, so my brain is never too far away from any of my projects.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I am not sure.  My dreams and creative ideas tend to be a crazy mess of all my favorite authors, books, and movies with my own creative ideas thrown in for good measure.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?
I guess I would have to say my favorite books and my OCD-like need for completion have inspired me to write this book.  From a small child, I have been addicted to great stories, and I can’t help but want to bring this dream to life.  I also can’t handle the thought of leaving a story hanging, and my dream never had an ending.  I have to write this one or it’s going to mock me for the rest of my life!

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
My story is going to be a struggle between reality and delusion and wrestle with one of our darkest fears: Is what I am experiencing really there or am I just a helpless prisoner to my minds delusions?

I hope when I finish this book you will get the chance to read it and tell me what you think.  I was unable to find some other authors to continue the blog hop on my end.  But I encourage you to explore those authors behind me.  And if you want to join in the fun, just let me know.

Leave a Reply

