Seven/Seven Blog Challenge

Posted: March 13, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

ImageYesterday, I read a friend and fellow writer Christine Rice’s blog post about the Seven/Seven Blog Challenge and decided I HAD to participate.  Over the last few months, I’ve seen a similar challenge making its rounds on Facebook among many of my writing friends, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed seeing what works-in-progress everyone is working on.  I thought that this would be a wonderful and fun way to offer you a glimpse into my newest work-in-progress, a sci-fi thriller that I just started writing based off of a recurring dream I had had a few months ago.

Here are the rules of the challenge:

1. Choose seven lines from page 7 or 77 of your current work-in-progress.

2. Invite seven other writers to post the same and link back to you.

3. Mention and link back to the person who nominated you.

I am inviting some of my writer friends to join in on the blog challenge, and if you want jump in, as well, just comment and I’ll be sure to link to your blog in this post.  The more the merrier because nothing breeds more creativity and inspiration than a little mystery, fun, and sharing among friends!

Without further ado, I introduce to you 7 lines from page 7 of my currently untitled novel:

I cursed and swore at the ungodly being; I begged and pleaded for it to release me.  Still, it refused to relent.  I knew it heard me because I could hear its laughter and see its grotesque smirk inside my mind.  Uncloaked and in its true form, it was feeding off of my agony, devouring my suffering like a glutinous hog.

With my last scrap of strength, I raged and fought against the hideous beast in my mind.  If I had to die, it was going with me.  Such an unnatural monstrosity didn’t deserve to live, and it, the last of its species, was going straight to hell with my final breath!

So, what do you think?  This is an initial rough draft and I have a long journey ahead before I complete this novel.  Yet, I am super excited to see where this story will take me because my dream never did have an ending!

Comments
  1. Great snippet of your work-in-progress. Sounds intriguing and very well-written for a rough draft. Thanks for participating in the challenge. It’s a lot of fun.

  2. Lisa Stover says:

    what a cool idea Amanda!

  3. […] my newest creation since I am actively working on it this month.  For a little sneak peak, click here.  Now with introductions aside, let’s get started on the blog hop […]

Leave a Reply

