Finding the Person Within the Writer

Posted: February 20, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , ,

Image

We writers hear so often about getting—and staying—in touch with our inner writer.  We are advised to eat, sleep, and live the written word.  But in all the hubbub of trying to find inspiration, discipline, experience, and a market for our writing, we sometimes lose touch with the rest of our being.

Of course, I AM a writer.  Nothing could ever change that.  It seems like I was born with the desire to tell my own tales and to express my thoughts and ideas on paper.  To deny the writer in me would be to deny myself.  Yet, sometimes, the rest of me feels neglected.  When was the last time I was able to listen to my favorite music without a writing idea interrupting?  How come I don’t give priority to photography like I do with writing, even though I am frequently inspired by the sights around me?  What was the last book I read without my inner writer critiquing or comparing the author’s writing with my own?

Sometimes I just want to scream and tell her to shut up and mind her own business…to take her turn for a change!  Yes, I’m a writer, but I am so much more than that.  I am a mother, animal lover, and an outdoor enthusiast.  I love cooking, painting landscapes, sketching, gardening, and working with my hands.  I’m addicted to listening to music of vast genres, taking photos, reading/collecting books, and consuming everything chocolate in sight!  And if you haven’t noticed, I’m enamored with humor, laughter, and even sarcasm at times.

Consequently, calling me just a writer doesn’t do me justice—and treating myself as such would be insane.  I decided to start this blog as an outlet for when my inner writer and other facets collide.  Sometimes, what I have to say or what I am inspired to write doesn’t fit neatly into any of my current projects.  So, now I can come here and freely type away about whatever strikes my fancy.  I hope you join me for the ride.  You never know where it might lead!

Comments
  1. Sharon Horodyski says:

    Looking forward to reading more, Amanda. I like to write, but I am much more compulsive with photography. I often feel i never enjoy things fully because I have to photograph them! Yet times that I have tried to leave my camera at home have turned into fiascos! Good Luck with your writing and creative expression!

    • ARDollak says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Sharon! I know what you mean. I still haven’t found a balance with taking photos. I want to capture the important memories but enjoy them as well. It’s difficult!

Leave a Reply

